

KATHY HOCHUL Governor BARBARA RICE Executive Director

9/14/2022 9:30 am

FINAL AGENDA ADIRONDACK PARK AGENCY September 15, 2022

FULL AGENCY

<u>9:30 AM – 10:00 AM</u>

1. Call to Order

- 2. Welcoming Remarks (John Ernst, Chair)
- 3. Public Comment

Public comment will be available to members of the public who attend the Agency meeting in person.

The Agency encourages public comment that will assist us in improving our practices, procedures, and our responsibility to the public. However, to promote fundamental fairness, and in consideration of the substantial time available for written comment, the practice of the Agency is to exclude public comment on matters pending decision until the conclusion of Agency business. This includes: (1) any matter which is before the Agency for action at this meeting; (2) any enforcement case which is before the Agency; (3) any matter for which an adjudicatory public hearing has been convened. Conduct of the meeting is always at the discretion of the Chair or Committee Chair.

4. Approval of July 14, 2022 Draft Agency Minutes

- 5. <u>Recusals</u>
- 6. Motion for Executive Session
- 7. Executive Director's Report (Barbara Rice)
- 8. Motion to Adjourn into Committees

COMMITTEE MEETINGS

The Agency Chair may serve as a voting member of any of the committees.

<u>10:00 AM – 12:30 PM</u>

State Land Committee

Chair: Ken Lynch, Committee Members: Andrea Hogan, Benita Law-Diao, Art Lussi, Joe Zalewski (DEC)

- (1) State Land Report (Megan Phillips)
- (2) Accessibility & State Lands Presentation (Leah Akins, DEC, Kevin Prickett, APA)

For information: Leah Akins, DEC Accessibility Coordinator; and Kevin Prickett, Environmental Program Specialist 2, will give an overview of how the State provides access to state lands for individuals with disabilities.

(3) <u>Summary of Public Comments Received on Wild Forest Basic Guideline No. 4 – No</u> <u>Material Increase of Roads on Wild Forest Lands</u> (Josh Clague, DEC, Megan Phillips, APA)

For information: Josh Clague, Adirondack Forest Preserve Coordinator; and Megan Phillips, Deputy Director for Planning, will summarize public comments received during the 60-day comment period, as well as supplemental information to inform the board's determinations.

(4) <u>Summary of Public Comments Received on the Inter-Agency Guidelines for Best</u> <u>Management Practices to Control Invasive Species on DEC-Administered Lands of</u> <u>the Adirondack Park</u> (Megan Phillips)

For action: Megan Phillips, Deputy Director for Planning, will summarize public comments received during the 30-day comment period and seek a board vote to determine conformance of the guidelines with the State Land Master Plan.

- (3) Old Business
- (4) New Business

<u>12:30 PM – 1:00PM</u>

Executive Session

LUNCH 1:00 PM - 1:30 PM

<u>1:30 PM – 3:30 PM</u>

Regulatory Programs Committee

Chair: Dan Wilt, Committee Members: Art Lussi, Ken Lynch, Kisha Santiago-Martinez

(1) <u>Regulatory Programs Committee Report</u> (John Burth, EPS 3)

(2) <u>P2022-0046</u> Ariel Lynch

BR Project1, LLC Town of Clifton, St. Lawrence County Resource Management and Industrial Use §809 of the Adirondack Park Agency Act

The action involves construction of a 20 MW solar generation facility on the Benson Mine's iron ore tailings pile located south of NY State Route 3. The solar array system will occupy approximately 111.5 acres and consist of single-axis tracker solar panels with a maximum height of 15 feet. The project will interconnect to the electric power grid via a line tap to the transmission lines north of the Star Lake Substation, which is north of NYS Route 3 and adjacent to the site. The project also includes a two-lot subdivision by lease in the Resource Management land use area.

Staff Recommendation: Approve with Conditions

(2) P2022-0163

Trevor Fravor &	Lyme Timber Company
Aaron Ziemann	Town of Lake Pleasant, Hamilton County
	Resource Management
	§809 of the Adirondack Park Agency Act

The action involves a timber harvest of 824 acres within Lyme Timber Company's 14,379-acre Perkins Clearing Tract, consisting of two treatment areas: a) 103-acre free thinning harvest to focus growth on future crop trees, and b) 721-acre shelter wood removal harvest, with reserves, to release a young age class of healthy, desirable species. The property is within a New York State Working Forest Conservation Easement and is certified to the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) and Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) certification standards.

Staff Recommendation: Approve with Conditions

(3) Old Business

(4) New Business

<u>3:30 PM</u> Full Agency

9. Committee Reports

Regulatory Programs (Dan Wilt)

a) P2022-0046 - BR Project1, LLC

b) P2022-0163 – Lyme Timber Company

State Lands

a) Inter-Agency Guidelines for Best Management Practices to Control Invasive Species on DEC-Administered Lands of the Adirondack Park

Administration (John Ernst)

a) Agency Draft Policy Authorizing the Use of Videoconference for Agency Meetings

Action: Draft Policy Final reading. Motion to adopt.

10. Interim Reports

Economic Affairs (Mark Hall) Enforcement (Art Lussi) Local Government Services (Dan Wilt) Legal Affairs (Art Lussi) Park Ecology (Zoë Smith) Park Policy and Planning (Andrea Hogan) Public Awareness and Communication (Mark Hall)

Local Government Review Board Report (Gerald Delaney, LGRB)

11. Old Business

12. New Business

13. Public Comment

Public comment will be available to members of the public who attend the Agency meeting in person.

October 13-14, 2022 Agency Meeting – Adirondack Park Agency, Ray Brook, New York

ADIRONDACK PARK AGENCY AGENCY MEMBER COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

John Ernst, Chair¹

Regulatory Programs

Dan Wilt, Chair Art Lussi Ken Lynch Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS

Enforcement

Art Lussi, Chair Brad Austin, ESD Ken Lynch Zoë Smith

<u>State Land</u>

Ken Lynch, Chair Andrea Hogan Benita Law-Diao Art Lussi Joe Zalewski, DEC

Local Government Services

Dan Wilt, Chair Andrea Hogan Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS Joe Zalewski, DEC

Public Awareness and Communication

Mark Hall, Chair Brad Austin, ESD Benita Law-Diao Zoë Smith Dan Wilt

Legal Affairs

Art Lussi, Chair Ken Lynch Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS

Park Policy and Planning

Andrea Hogan, Chair Brad Austin, ESD Mark Hall Benita Law-Diao Zoë Smith

<u>Park Ecology</u>

Zoë Smith, Chair Brad Austin, ESD Mark Hall Joe Zalewski, DEC

Economic Affairs

Mark Hall, Chair Brad Austin, ESD Andrea Hogan Joe Zalewski, DEC

Administration

John Ernst, Chair Andrea Hogan Art Lussi

¹ The Agency Chair may serve as a voting member of any of the above committees.