

KATHY HOCHUL Governor BARBARA RICE Executive Director

7/13/2022 9:20 AM

FINAL AGENDA ADIRONDACK PARK AGENCY July 14, 2022

FULL AGENCY

<u>9:30 AM – 10:00 AM</u>

1. Call to Order

- 2. Welcoming Remarks (John Ernst, Chair)
- 3. Public Comment

Public comment will be available to members of the public who attend the Agency meeting in person.

The Agency encourages public comment that will assist us in improving our practices, procedures, and our responsibility to the public. However, to promote fundamental fairness, and in consideration of the substantial time available for written comment, the practice of the Agency is to exclude public comment on matters pending decision until the conclusion of Agency business. This includes: (1) any matter which is before the Agency for action at this meeting; (2) any enforcement case which is before the Agency; (3) any matter for which an adjudicatory public hearing has been convened. Conduct of the meeting is always at the discretion of the Chair or Committee Chair.

4. Approval of June 9, 2022 Draft Agency Minutes

- 5. <u>Recusals</u>
- 6. Motion for Executive Session
- 7. Executive Director's Report (Barbara Rice)
- 8. Motion to Adjourn into Committees

COMMITTEE MEETINGS

The Agency Chair may serve as a voting member of any of the committees.

<u>10:00 AM – 10:30 AM</u>

Administration Committee

Chair: John Ernst, Committee Members: Kisha Santiago-Martinez, Dan Wilt

- (1) Administration Committee Report (Elaine Caldwell)
- (2) Agency Draft Policy Authorizing the Use of Videoconference for Agency Meetings (Christopher Cooper)

Action: Draft Policy Second reading.

- (3) Old Business
- (4) New Business

<u>10:30 AM – 11:30 AM</u>

Park Policy and Planning Committee

Chair: Andrea Hogan, Committee Members: Brad Austin, Mark Hall, Zoë Smith

- (1) Park Policy and Planning Report (Dan Kelleher)
- (2) <u>Presentation by NYSERDA</u> (Jennifer Manierre and Tracy Darougar)

NYSERDA will discuss New York State's goals for renewable energy development, the site selection process, funding and renewable energy certificates, and how local governments and the APA can best prepare for the clean energy future. Other topics to be covered: taxes, PILOT and host community benefit negotiations, solar project permitting pathways and project types, decommissioning, and the interconnection process.

- (3) Old Business
- (4) New Business

<u>11:30 AM – 12:30 PM</u>

FOREST OF HEROES ARBORETUM CEREMONY

Tree dedication honoring Fred Monroe, long-time Executive Director of the Adirondack Park Local Government Review Board.

LUNCH 12:30 PM - 1:00 PM

<u>1:00 PM – 2:30 PM</u>

State Land Committee

Chair: Ken Lynch, Committee Members: Andrea Hogan, Art Lussi, Joe Zalewski (DEC)

- (1) <u>State Land Report</u> (Megan Phillips)
- (2) <u>Visitor Use Management Framework</u> (Kevin Prickett (APA), Josh Clague and John Schmid (DEC), Natasha Karniski-Keglovits (SUNY ESF))

For Information: Agency and Department staff will brief the board on progress made toward implementing a visitor use management framework for state lands. SUNY-ESF will also share their work on the ecological scorecard.

- (3) Old Business
- (4) New Business

2:30 PM Full Agency

9. Committee Reports

Administration (John Ernst) a) Agency Policy Authorizing the Use of Videoconference for Agency Meetings

Park Policy and Planning (Andrea Hogan) a) NYSERDA presentation

State Land (Ken Lynch) a) Visitor use management

10. Interim Reports

Economic Affairs (Mark Hall) Enforcement (Art Lussi) Local Government Services (Dan Wilt) Legal Affairs (Art Lussi) Park Ecology (Zoë Smith) Public Awareness and Communication (Mark Hall) Regulatory Programs (Dan Wilt)

Local Government Review Board Report (Gerald Delaney, LGRB)

11. Old Business

12. New Business

13. Public Comment

Public comment will be available to members of the public who attend the Agency meeting in person.

<u>August 18-19, 2022 Agency Meeting</u> – Adirondack Park Agency, Ray Brook, New York

ADIRONDACK PARK AGENCY AGENCY MEMBER COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS

John Ernst, Chair¹

Regulatory Programs

Dan Wilt, Chair Ken Lynch Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS Art Lussi

Enforcement

Art Lussi, Chair Zoë Smith Ken Lynch Brad Austin, ESD

<u>State Land</u>

Ken Lynch, Chair Arthur Lussi Andrea Hogan Joe Zalewski, DEC

Local Government Services

Dan Wilt, Chair Andrea Hogan Joe Zalewski, DEC Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS

Public Awareness and Communication

Mark Hall, Chair Dan Wilt Zoë Smith Brad Austin, ESD

Legal Affairs

Art Lussi, Chair Ken Lynch Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS

Park Policy and Planning

Andrea Hogan, Chair Zoë Smith Mark Hall Brad Austin, ESD

Park Ecology

Zoë Smith, Chair Mark Hall Brad Austin, ESD Joe Zalewski, DEC

Economic Affairs

Mark Hall, Chair Andrea Hogan Brad Austin, ESD Joe Zalewski, DEC

Administration

John Ernst, Chair Kisha Santiago-Martinez, DOS Dan Wilt

¹ The Agency Chair may serve as a voting member of any of the above committees.